Security Guard Requirements in Connecticut

The Connecticut State Police manages the licensing of security guards. Connecticut is densely populated. The population in areas like Bridgeport, New Haven, and Stamford creates a need for security guards.

Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in Connecticut

You will have to renew an unarmed security guard license every five years. There are a few basic security guard requirements in Connecticut that the applications should meet.

The requirements are:

  • You must be at least 18 years old.
  • Complete a security guard training course approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection.
  • You must not have any conviction of a felony, sexual offense, or crime that questions honesty and integrity.

The security guard training course includes topics like legal issues and liability, use of force continuum, and terrorism. The licensing fee is $100.00.

Armed Security Guard Requirements in Connecticut

In order to be an armed security guard in the State of Connecticut, you have to fulfill a few additional requirements which are:

First, you must be at least 21 years of age.

Second, you will have to provide a set of passport-style pictures.

Third, provide the employer with a set of fingerprints on a standard FBI fingerprint card.

Fourth,  maintain the qualifications, including an eight-hour course that has been set and approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection.

Finally, the firearm instructor must sign off on the reverse side of the Application Form DPS-1030 upon completion of the course. Then, after that, you should submit it to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.

Additionally, you must hold a Connecticut State Pistol Permit (resident or non-resident.)

If you need further information about this topic, you may contact Experienced Security Guard Training Help Center. You may also check the resources shared by us here on our Website.

Licensing Body: Connecticut State Police